

## CMA honours 2 medical pioneers, administrator

The CMA presented its top awards during the August annual meeting in Victoria. The 1997 recipient of the **F.N.G. Starr Award** is Dr. **Robert Salter**, an innovative orthopedic surgeon whose work improved the treatment of mil-



Dr. Robert Salter

lions of pediatric patients. In 1962 his research with Dr. Robert Harris led to the Salter-Harris classification of epiphyseal plate fractures, which classifies these fractures according to the prognosis of the effects of the injury on subsequent growth and deformity of the epiphysis. He also developed the Salter innominate osteotomy and the concept of continuous passive motion (CPM) to treat diseased or injured cartilage. CPM employs machines to move joints continuously postoperatively.

The F.N.G. Starr Award is the highest honour the CMA can bestow upon a member. It recognizes outstanding contributions to science, the fine arts or literature. Salter, a 1948 graduate of the University of Toronto, has published more than 150 articles and is currently surgeon-in-chief emeritus and senior orthopedic surgeon emeritus at Toronto's Hospital for Sick Children. He is a companion of the Order of Canada and has

been appointed to the Order of Ontario.

The CMA Medal of Service, which is presented to a physician who has made an exceptional and outstanding contribution to the advancement of health care in Canada, was awarded to Dr. A. M. (Max) House, a telemedicine pioneer. A 1952 graduate of Dalhousie University, House became Newfoundland's sole neurologist in 1960. He helped create the Memorial University medical school and was its first director of continuing medical education when it opened in 1968. In 1976 he founded the

Telemedicine Centre at Memorial, establishing him as a worldwide leader in the field. The centre is still recognized internationally as the model for telemedicine systems. His use of communication technology to deliver care elevated the standard of medical care in some of Canada's most remote locations.

House became a member of the Order of Canada in 1989 and retired from his neurology practice this year to become lieutenant-governor of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The 1997 recipient of the **Medal of Honour**, the highest award the

CMA can bestow on a person who is not a member of the medical profession, is **Peter Fraser**, the first nonphysician to serve as chief executive officer of the Ontario Medical Association (OMA). As OMA comptroller in the 1960s, Fraser codified the

schedule of fees that became the basis of the payment schedule for Ontario's medical insurance plan. Fee schedules across Canada can trace their form and often their substance to the blueprint he created.

The CMA also presented 33 Senior Memberships to recognize long-term, distinguished medical service. The 1997 recipients from British Columbia were Paul Gawthrop, Nanaimo; Kenneth Hill, Burnaby; Doris Kavanagh-Gray, Vancouver; Gerald Philippson, Chemainus; Michael Priest, Westminster; New Harvey Sanders, Vancouver; Guy Winch, West Vancouver: and David Wooldridge, Salt Spring Island. Aubrey Tanner, now of Surrey, BC, was named Senior Member in the Yukon.

Recipients from the Prairies were **Peter Davey**, **Rodney Eidem** and **J. Francis Elliott**, all of Ed-



**Peter Fraser** 

monton; George Gray, Lethbridge, Alta.; Allan Hepburn, Calgary; Paul Good, Regina; Ian Smith, North Battleford, Sask.; Fletcher Baragar, Winnipeg; and William Ritchie, Dauphin, Man.

Ontario recipients were **Manuel Gluck**, Ottawa; **Jack Saunders**,

Collingwood; and Victor Marchessault, Cumberland. Receiving the honour in Quebec were MacDonald Caza, Pointe-Claire; Michel Fortin, Val-Senneville; Paul-Émile Gareau, Sainte-Foy; Michel Gauthier, Lévis; Richard Jacob, Capde-la-Madeleine; and Bernard Longpré, Sherbrooke.

Senior Members from Atlantic Canada were Gerald Clayden, Fredericton; Robert Hennessy, Bathurst, NB; Joseph Roach, New Waterford, NS; J. Barrie Ross, Halifax; Sheldon Cameron, Summerside, PEI; and Dr. Leslie Wells, Carbonear, Nfld.



Dr. Max House